Yesterday I talked about my Prime Speaker Bant list.  With that list, that is what I will play in Baltimore.  Now I will talk about something that I am truly getting excited about.  Legacy is a format I never thought I would be involved in.  Its expensive, and unpredictable.  The more I talk about it and the more I play it, the more I enjoy it because of its unpredictability.  There are many decks out there and I will talk about the two decks I am looking at. The first deck is a maverick style deck.



3 Aether Vial
4 thalia
3 Knight of the Reliquary
4 dryad militant
3 stoneforge mystic
2 scavenging ooze
1 qasali pridemage
1 batterskull
1 umezawa's jitte
1 gaddock teeg
4 judge's familiar
4 swords to plowshares
1 oblivion ring
3 green sun zenith
3 imposing sovereign
2 Dryad Arbor
4 wasteland
2 karakas
1 cavern of souls
1 eiganjo castle
6 plains
5 forest
1 sejiri steepe
60 total
1 sword of fire and ice
2 rest in peace
2 skylasher
2 ghostly prison
2 loxodon smiter
2 ethersworn catonist
2 aven mindcensor
2 creeping corosion
15 Total


This deck is called taxed maverick.  We are looking at a deck that abuses creatures such as judges familiar and thalia early game.  And then finishing with stoneforge package and Knight of the reliquary.  You are able to use Karakas for the sneak and show decks, Combo has to go through judges familiar and thalia.  Key removal is there mainboard as well as ethersworn catonist for elves. I have to thank Dustin Beam in talking about sejiri steepe as this seems like a strong card to stop removal as well as protection for an alpha kill.    This seems like a solid deck choice currently.

The second deck I am eyeing is: 



1 Blightsteel Colossus
4 Kuldotha Forgemaster
4 Lodestone Golem
4 Metalworker
3 Sundering Titan
3 Wurmcoil Engine
2 Karn Liberated
4 Chalice of the void
3 Grim Monolith
3 expedition map
2 Staff of nin
1 Trinisphere
2 ethersword catonist
36
4 Ancient Tomb
4 plains
4 Cloudpost
4 Glimmerpost
4 vesuva
3 wasteland
1 eye of ugin
24
Sideboard
3 Ensnaring bridge
2 ratchet bomb
2 spine of ish sah
3 phyrexian revoker
1 platinum angel
2 spellskite
2 all is dust


This deck brings my inner timmy.  Post is an amazing deck that can bring out threats by turn 3.  I adapted the mud (artifacts) to it because it gives more threats to get you to the later turns for either blightsteel or emrakul. But it also gives you a chance to use kudultha forgemaster to get whatever card you want.  Also All is dust is a card right now!  Another card I like to really look into is chalice of the void.  running a four of and one trinisphere  blocks early game to give you time to play your threats.  Sneak and show is a deck that this deck can contend with because you play similar threats and use their card against them.  Game one elves seem a little strong for this deck pre board (minus catonist and chalice) but ratchet bomb helps out alot.  

These two decks are what I am looking at on the legacy side of things.... Who is ready to playtest?



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a passionate magic player that aspires to be on the pro tour.  My recent achievements are: 1 Star City Invitational Qualifier finalist. 1 Star City Invitational Qualifier top 8. 3 Win a box tournament 1st place finishes.  Top 16 in States.  

    Archives

    January 2014
    December 2013

    Categories

    All